Volunteer position for ISWI 2025

After several years, we, the ISWI e.V., can finally offer a place for a volunteer as part of the European Solidarity Corps' volunteer service program again. As a volunteer, you will be involved in our association for approximately one year and will help us organize the "International Student Week in Ilmenau 2025" (ISWI for short). Below, you will find all the essential information about the volunteering activity.

General Information about the activity

TypeVolunteering activity (full-time)
StartJuly / August 2024 (flexible)
Lengtharound 12 months
LocationIlmenau, Germany
ProjectISWI 2025
Applicationinfo@iswi.org (motivation and CV)

What is the 'ISWI'?

Our biggest project is the ÔÇťInternational Student Week in IlmenauÔÇŁ (also abbreviated as ÔÇťISWIÔÇŁ). ISWI is the largest student conference of its kind in Germany. It takes place every second year on the campus of Ilmenau University of Technology. During the 10 days of ISWI, young people from around the world with different cultural, educational, and personal backgrounds have a platform to exchange their experiences and views, to discuss current issues and to develop ideas and possible solutions for the discussed problems. Through this conference, we encourage and advocate for a fair and just international society, equal rights and opportunities, and sustainable development through the exchange of ideas by the youth. The purpose of the intercultural dialogue is to improve tolerance and open-mindedness among its participants as well as the students and locals of the city of Ilmenau. The ISWI 2025 will take place in May/June 2025.

What will be my role as volunteer in the project?

Together with our team of volunteer students from TU Ilmenau, you will be involved in the organisation of ISWI 2025. The areas of responsibility in the organisation team are varied and you can decide for yourself in which areas you would like to get involved. We also give you the opportunity to try out different areas of responsibility and learn new skills. Possible tasks or areas are:

  • marketing of the conference (via social or traditional media)
  • organization of content events (conception, invite speakers, etc.)
  • organization of cultural events (project management)
  • support for getting funding and sponsorships
  • administration of IT-infrastructure for the conference
  • logistics and transport

What requirements do I need to fulfill?

The voluntary service is funded by the European Solidarity Corps, which means that there are three main requirements for your participation:

  • you have to be between 18 and 30 years old (at the beginning of the activity)
  • You must be a legal resident of an EU country or a partner country (list of all eligible countries is here), excluding Germany
  • as it is a full-time volunteering activity, you should not have any other commitments during the activity (e.g. studies or job)

We are a very international team, which means that we communicate mainly in English. Good English language skills are therefore necessary, but German language skills are not.

What support will I get?

With the support of the European Solidarity Corps, you will receive a grant during the activity to cover your living costs (e.g. rent, food, etc.) and some pocket money. You will also receive financial support for travelling to and from the activity.
We will of course also support you in preparing for your stay in Ilmenau, especially in finding accommodation.

How can I apply for the volunteering activity?

Just send us an E-Mail with a short motivation letter (max. on DIN-A4 page) and your CV to info@iswi.org. We will then contact you shortly afterwards to arrange an appointment for a short interview. Before you apply, please check that you fulfill the basic requirements for the voluntary service (as mentioned before).

More questions?

Solltest du noch weitere Fragen zum Freiwilligendienst oder der ISWI 2025 haben, dann schicke uns doch einfach eine E-Mail an info@iswi.org.

en_GBEnglish

Freiwilligenplatz fĂŒr die ISWI 2025

Wir, der ISWI e.V., können nach mehreren Jahren endlich wieder einen Platz fĂŒr einen oder eine Freiwillige im Rahmen des Freiwilligendienstes des European Solidarity Corps anbieten. Als Freiwillige oder Freiwilliger wirst du dich fĂŒr ungefĂ€hr ein Jahr lang in unserem Verein engagieren und mit uns gemeinsam die “Internationale Studierendenwoche in Ilmenau 2025” (kurz ISWI) organisieren. Im folgenden erhĂ€ltst du alle wichtigen Informationen fĂŒr die FreiwilligenaktivitĂ€t.

Generelle Informationen zur AktivitÀt

TypFreiwilligendienst (Vollzeit)
BeginnJuli / August 2024 (flexibel)
Dauerca. 12 Monate
OrtIlmenau, Deutschland
ProjektISWI 2025
Bewerbunginfo@iswi.org (Motivation und CV)

Was ist die ISWI?

Die ISWI ist die grĂ¶ĂŸte Studierendenkonferenz ihrer Art in Deutschland. Sie findet alle zwei Jahre auf dem Campus der Technischen UniversitĂ€t Ilmenau statt. WĂ€hrend der 10 Tage der ISWI werden jungen Menschen aus der ganzen Welt mit unterschiedlichen kulturellen, bildungsbezogenen und persönlichen HintergrĂŒnden eine Plattform geboten, um ihre Erfahrungen und Ansichten auszutauschen, aktuelle Themen zu diskutieren und Ideen und mögliche Lösungen fĂŒr die diskutierten Probleme zu entwickeln. Mit dieser Konferenz wollen wir eine faire und gerechte internationale Gesellschaft, gleiche Rechte und Chancen sowie eine nachhaltige Entwicklung durch den Gedankenaustausch der Jugend fördern und unterstĂŒtzen. Ziel des interkulturellen Dialogs ist es, die Toleranz und Aufgeschlossenheit unter den Teilnehmenden sowie den Studierenden und Einwohner*innen der Stadt Ilmenau zu verbessern. Die ISWI 2025 wird im Mai/Juni 2025 stattfinden.

Wie sieht die Arbeit wÀhrend des Freiwilligendienstes aus?

Gemeinsam mit unserem Team aus ehrenamtlichen Studierenden der TU Ilmenau wirst du an der Organisation der ISWI 2025 beteiligt sein. Die Aufgabenbereiche im Organisationsteam sind vielseitig und du kannst selbst entscheiden in welchen Bereichen du dich engagieren möchtest. Wir geben dir auch die Möglichkeit verschiedene Aufgabenfelder auszuprobieren und neue Skills zu erlernen. Möglich Aufgaben oder Bereiche sind:

  • Marketing der Konferenz (ĂŒber Social Media oder traditionelle Presse)
  • Organisation von inhaltlichen Veranstaltungen (Von der Konzeption, ĂŒber die Akquise von Referent*innen, bis zur DurchfĂŒhrung)
  • Organisation von kulturellen Veranstaltungen (Projektmanagement)
  • UnterstĂŒtzung bei der Akquise von Fördermitteln
  • Administration der IT-Infrastruktur fĂŒr die Konferenz
  • Logistik und Transport

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich erfĂŒllen?

Der Freiwilligendienst wird ĂŒber den EuropĂ€ischen SolidaritĂ€tskorps gefördert, womit im wesentlichen drei Voraussetzungen fĂŒr deine Teilnahme bestehen:

  • Du musst zwischen 18 und 30 Jahre alt sein (bei Beginn der AktivitĂ€t)
  • Du musst einen rechtmĂ€ĂŸigen Wohnsitz einem EU-Land oder einem Partnerland haben (Liste aller LĂ€nder ist hier), ausgenommen Deutschland
  • Da es ein Vollzeit Freiwilligendienst ist, solltest du wĂ€hrend der AktivitĂ€t keine weiteren Verpflichtungen haben (bspw. Studium oder Job)

Wir sind ein sehr internationales Team, das heißt, wir kommunizieren hauptsĂ€chlich in Englisch. Gute englische Sprachkenntnisse sind also notwendig, Sprachkenntnisse in Deutsch jedoch nicht.

Welche UnterstĂŒtzung erhalte ich?

Durch die UnterstĂŒtzung des EuropĂ€ischen SolidaritĂ€tskorps erhĂ€ltst du wĂ€hrend der AktivitĂ€t eine Förderung, die deine Lebenserhaltungskosten (z.B. Miete, Essen, usw.) decken soll und etwas Taschengeld. Außerdem bekommst du finanzielle UnterstĂŒtzung fĂŒr deine An- und Abreise.
Wir unterstĂŒtzen dich selbstverstĂ€ndlich bei der Vorbereitung fĂŒr deinen Aufenthalt in Ilmenau, insbesondere bei der Suche nach einer Wohnung.

Wie kann ich mich bewerben?

Sende uns einfach eine E-Mail mit einem kurzen Motivationsschreiben (max. eine DIN-A4 Seite) und deinem Lebenslauf an info@iswi.org. Danach werden wir dich nach kurzer Zeit kontaktieren, um einen Termin fĂŒr ein kurzes Interview zu auszumachen. Bevor du dich bewirbst, ĂŒberprĂŒfe bitte, dass du die grundlegenden Voraussetzungen fĂŒr den Freiwilligendienst erfĂŒllst.

Noch Fragen?

Solltest du noch weitere Fragen zum Freiwilligendienst oder der ISWI 2025 haben, dann schicke uns doch einfach eine E-Mail an info@iswi.org.

de_DEGerman